Fancy Footwear

The weather here in South Florida has finally caught up with the calendar and we’re expecting low temps in the 60s this week. That means chilly tile floors and a renewed need for wearing socks and slippers. With two growing girls, I’ve spent a great deal of my time practicing new stitches and techniques on footwear that’s both warm and fun to wear.

Not only was this the first pattern I ever paid for, this was how I learned the make the crocodile stitch. This pattern by Bonita Patterns & Yarns is one of my most popular items. My girls wore theirs for almost three years before their feet outgrew the yarn’s ability to stretch. I guess I should make them each a replacement pair…

I make slippers for adults, too, even for myself. My personal favorites are the Cute and Cozy Granny Slippers because they’re durable and work up rather quickly,  and I can use up leftover yarn from other projects.

I also love the Pozy Toes Crochet Slippers but, much to my surprise, I don’t have a photo.

Let’s not forget about socks! All of these are mostly my own design (there is no published pattern for that middle pair, but it is someone else’s original idea). I learned the basics here and have added different stitches and designs because there’s really nothing better in the fall than having the cutest socks peeking out of the tops of your boots.

You can see more of my Fancy Footwear on A Country Yarn Handmade on Facebook.

Do you have a favorite pattern? With the cooler weather finally set to arrive, I’m on the lookout for something new!

 

Leave a comment