Messy Bun Hats

Were these unfinished hats a big hit in your area? I know that in a couple of the crochet groups I belong to on Facebook, some crafters were swamped with orders and requests right before Christmas. We rarely experience hat weather where I live, so I was able to get through the holidays without any last minute orders but I did make some practice hats that I thought you’d like to see.

ngxo8042The Easy Peasy Messy Bun Hat lives up to its name and you can find the pattern here. It works up quickly but it looks like a million bucks! For the kid size version, I used a smaller hook and made fewer rows. There was plenty of yarn left to make boot cuffs, too. Or in Regina’s case, wrist warmers. I made Tina one to match her cocoon cardigan.

ibwk5285

Those girls do love purple.

hvws5410

I was looking for something different, and when this pattern showed up in my Facebook newsfeed I knew I had to try it. I am thrilled with the finished product, and so is my mom. She kept the hat after playing model. The free pattern by Marly Bird includes instructions for closing the top.

xavz1930

You can find several good ‘cat hat’ crochet patterns online. To make yours a messy bun hat, seam the ears only and leave the center portion unfinished. This style was the fastest to work up and has been a hit with kids and adults. I’m thinking about adding black whiskers to the front, and maybe a pink nose.

sbrt8110

I happened to have a skein of chunky yarn in my stash and I used it to make a spiral hat using sc in the BLO. This particular hat is on its way to Kentucky. It’s a bottom-up hat, the first one I’ve ever made that didn’t use a ribbed band. I’ll be making more of them, but probably in worsted weight yarn.

cskw1459

A neighbor gave me a skein of Red Heart Boutique Unforgettable in Stained Glass and as soon as I put Sarina’s hair up I knew exactly what kind of hat she needed. I’ve called it the Two-Fer and the Double Trouble hat. I’ve had visions of the whole cheer squad wearing them in team colors at the regional competition. Or the hip hop dance class at the Spring recital! It’s a basic DC beanie, but I skipped some stitches in the 7th round to make the holes.

You can find all of my projects on Ravelry and on Facebook. And I wish you and yours all the best for the New Year!

Leave a Reply

