Kids’ Jackets Round Up

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned that I’m a self-taught crocheter. I first picked up a hook in February of 2013, and I’ve learned everything thanks to the huge number of tutorials and patterns that are available online. My two girls, Sarina my youngest daughter and Regina my oldest granddaughter, are two of my most willing models and testers and my favorite collaborators (and Pop Warner cheerleaders). Because of their interest and enthusiasm in my art I’ve created theses jackets in less than a year’s time!!

I am particularly proud of the Sarina Hoodie which is an original pattern. Sarina chose her yarn and the colors and helped design the pattern. I’ve written down enough notes to recreate my work so I can offer custom orders but I have yet to write out the actual pattern.

This jacket is absolutely Regina’s favorite pattern in her favorite color. You can read more about our variations on this one in this post.

I made both of these last Spring when the early mornings were still nice and cool but the temps were up in the 80s before lunchtime. Sarina chose the Cotton Cardigan which I scaled down to fit her smaller frame. Regina’s jacket is a version of the Bouvardia Hooded Jacket.

This was the first serious “you can wear it in public” jacket I ever made. I had the yarn in my stash and we knew we needed something to go with those red boots! You’ll find the details and a link to the pattern in this post.

2 thoughts on “Kids’ Jackets Round Up

Leave a Reply

