Princess Petal Circle Jacket (toot toot)

It’s been six months since I created an original post, and that is far too long! I get so busy with the crochet process and browsing for inspiration that I forget to make time for sharing my own work. Obviously, I’ve made time today because I want to toot toot my own horn.

We live in Southwest Florida where cold days are few and far between. Normally we add a few layers under a hoodie and hope that the temp rises before lunchtime but we’re not always so lucky and this week we’re faced with several days that will be colder than normal. I just happened to have several skeins of Caron One Pound acrylic yarn in the closet that match those red boots perfectly (claret, black and cream). When paired with Caron Simply Soft, it black made for a thick and soft fabric. You can read up about Caron at the Yarnspirations site.

I have made robes and sweaters, but this is my very first circle jacket. It worked up so quickly, mostly because the garment is child-sized but I don’t think an adult version would take up a daunting amount of time. I found the pattern for Princess Petal at the Garn Studio web site. If you are confident in your crochet skills and love free patterns, I highly recommend starting there for inspiration and video tutorials. The patterns aren’t written in the way we see them in magazines or on blogs in the US, but I’ve always managed to figure them out with a bit of practice.

I’m working on a set of claret mittens and a hat in all three colors to match the fabric of the coat, so I’d best stop with the blogging and get to hooking!

Let me know in the comments if you’ve got a favorite kids’ cold-weather pattern.

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Princess Petal Circle Jacket (toot toot)

  1. Pingback: Kids’ Jackets Round Up | A Country Yarn

Leave a Reply

