Summer Robe for Kids II

I have two little girls, aged 6 years each, who are always ready and willing to browse patterns and create color palettes and basically be my pint-sized crochet companions. They are my go-to models for adapting and trying new patterns, and because kids are brutally honest I have complete trust in their opinions about my work. They also have distinctly different tastes so I rarely make the the exact same crocheted item twice.

Not quite two weeks ago, I made a pretty little candy colored robe for Sarina (Summer Robe for Kids I) and started a different style for Regina. We found a very summer looking pattern for a ladies shirt (Crochet Scalloped Top – Yarnspirations) that I felt could be easily adapted to fit a kid.

Does she look happy or what?

Does she look happy or what?

the back view

the back view

Turns out I was right!

I used yarn from my stash, Bernat Softee baby yarn in white and Baby Coordinates in soft lilac. and a 4.00 mm tapered steel hook. The robe is considerably longer than the shirt pattern but it’s not as wide.

I crocheted the back as directed, beginning at the bottom of the garment and ending with white when I reached just above Regina’s waist. I then made two front panels of the same length, but only 1/3 the width of the back. All three pieces were finished in soft lilac and slip stitched together.

left and right front pieces

left and right front pieces

Left front, detail

Left front, detail

Sleeve detail

Sleeve detail

The sleeves have two oval shaped gaps at each shoulder where only the tops of scallops were attached. I used a single crochet stitch all the way around for the edging and made a simple 50 chain slip stitch tie for each side.

tie detail

tie detail

I finished with single crochet stitches all around for the edging and 50-chain slip stitch ties.

It’s a very light and airy feeling robe, perfect for feeling pretty and girly on hot Florida mornings. And I learned a fabulous new lacy stitch that can be easily adapted for a scarf

Let me know what you think in the comments!

Thanks for stopping by,

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

